Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding but need some advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Rebuilding but need some advice

So when i was in college i was sure i didnt have to start repaying my loans until 6 months after i graduated... Fast forward a few years and hours of countless arguements with NJCLASS ( worst loan company in new jersey ) i now have a bunch of 30/60/90 day lates on my record, as well as a charge off from capital one. 

Now the capital one charge off is settled but if i have the option should i just pay the rest of it to have it updated to paid in full? What are the advantages and disadvantages ( this will fall off my record in two years but im looking to buy a house before it will drop off ). 

What are some good routes to take to try and get these late payments off of my report? Should i try the good will letters with NJCLASS / HESAA? I've heard theyre pretty hard to deal with when it comes to forgiveness on student loans. Havent had a late payment in a few years but i dropped all the way down to 507 because i didnt educate myself. After surfing this forum and educating myself i am now almost at 700 ( but im afraid to apply for anything because of the charge off and the derogs on my account. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for being such a supporting community. 

4 REPLIES 4
Brooklyn2018
Valued Contributor

Re: Rebuilding but need some advice

Now the capital one charge off is settled but if i have the option should i just pay the rest of it to have it updated to paid in full? -YES! PAY IT OFF! IT’LL STOP UPDATING NEGATIVE INFO. THEN TRY GW TO TRY AND HAVE IT REMOVED.
What are the advantages -AS IT AGES IT’LL HAVE LESS AFFECT ON YOUR SCORES and disadvantages- WHEN APPLYING FOR HOME LOAN YOU MAY HAVE TO HAVE IT PAID BEFORE APPROVAL. ( this will fall off my record in two years but im looking to buy a house before it will drop off ).