cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remove towing related CA that was reported for dues while I was away from the country for 2 yeas?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Remove towing related CA that was reported for dues while I was away from the country for 2 yeas?

I'm a resident alien who has lived in the US since 2009. However, owing to visa issues I had to temporarily leave the country in Jan 2014. I returned in April 2016 and noticed a collection account on my credit report. Later, I found out that the collection account was from a towing company that had towed a motorcycle of mine that had actually been stolen from my parking lot a few months before I left. In Apr 2014, the police had apparently nabbed the culprit during my absence and were also the ones that had called the towing company. The police say that they sent notifications to the address they had on file but since I was not there anymore I obviously did not receive any. The same applie to phone calls too. Just before leaving I had paid off  the balances on all my cards and loans including that of the motorcycle (I had it in storage for winter and so had suspended my insurance and the theft happened immediately after I took it out at which point i still hadnt resumed Smiley Sad but that was totally on me so can't blame anyone).