Did you mean: 

Secured WF upgraded to unsecured

tag
Queen_Etherea
Valued Contributor

Re: Secured WF upgraded to unsecured

@Rebuild2019 wrote:
Hello,

I was thinking about applying with WF. I am just starting out with a 520 CS. I have banked with WF since 2005. 7-yrs is a long time to wait. I have 4 derogatories that should fall off in 3 months. Maybe I should wait. Got approved for Discover Secured and Open Sky. Congratulations to you.

I honestly don't regret getting my secured card with WF. I started off kinda where you are now when I got my very first credit card, which was the secured one. My dad was the one telling me to go with Wells Fargo (long before I found this forum) so I trusted his advice. I initially put $300 as the limit and eventually bumped it up to $1,200. It was as easy as calling them and they just moved the money from my checking to my secured card limit.

They didn't unsecure my card until late last year and I opened the card in March 2017. I still had some baddies on my reports when it became unsecured, but I think it was just the medical collection for $80. I think the reason they took so long is because I had a very high balance for the majority of the time that I had the card. It wasn't until I brought the balance down and kept it down that they sent me my letter saying they were going to unsecure it.

If you're in need of a third card, I would honestly just wait until the rest of your baddies fall off. I know it's hard to be patient, but I think it'll be worth the wait. You'll have better starting limits and a better chance at some better cards. Just make sure to keep your balances low.

I think I've found the sacred map that may lead me to this garden everyone keeps talking about.

Officially collection free as of 3/19/19!!
STARTING SCORES: 377 (11/2013) & 580 (3/2018)
Message 11 of 18
Rebuild2019
Valued Contributor