Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seriously Starting Over

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Seriously Starting Over

Hello myFico Forums,

I am new to this but very familiar with the Fico Score. I had a subscription last year, which I cancelled of course, and never valued the Community (so much information!). I am now, seriously, working on getting my credit together. I had tried in the past but never kept up with making on-time payments and just could NOT stop applying for credit when I knew I would not get approved.

As a starting over grad student (MBA from MPA) with LOADS of student loans, it is time to get my finances together. I made HUGE mistakes by taking out loans while attending community college seven years ago and during my remaining studies at a university. Now I have over 94k in federal loans and INTEREST with two years of grad school remaining. Yes, I took the max they allowed me to. I was an independent student. Offer 12.5k with tuition/fees for the year only 3k? Where do I sign?! I did not know the impact. Enough of the personal rambling.

Over the next several months I am paying off a lot of revolving credit debt. I have several collections that range from $240 to $5,500.

I have nine revolving credit accounts:

1. Macy's SC: 0/100
  2. Wal-Mart SC: 335/400
  3. CO QuickSilver One: 699.35/700
  4. Gettington: 134/400
  5. Barclay/Apple: 1,013/1,000
  6. Fingerhut: 170/750
  7. Amazon Store: 101/600 (Opened 4/1/16)
  8. CreditOne: 470/700
  9. CO Platinum: 0/500
  10. CO Platinum Secured (Closed 3/27): -8.00 (deposit applied; closed out at 421 awaiting update)

Collections:

1. Public Record (apt. co-sign): 5,424 (other person discharged from ch. 7 bankruptcy)
  2. Herff Jones: 400
  3. SouthWest Credit System (Comcast): 591
  4. Credit Protection (Comcast): 236 and 590
  5. State Collections: 2,527
  6. D&A Services, Student Apt: 2,907 (HAS NOT HIT CR)
  7. Two Failed Semesters of Grad School: 1,541 and;
  8. cont. 2,657 (HAS NOT HIT CR)

Goals: