Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Settlement Offer

tag
pt145
Valued Member

Settlement Offer

The time has come to settle up with a Collection Account that I've been ignoring for about 4 years now (SOL Is 6 years) . I'm soon to be a new father in May & this has encouraged me to look into buying a house for the first time. This leads me down the path of riding myself of past due obligations.

I left a apartment in November 2008 with 2 months left on the lease, I tried negotiating when I left but they wanted around $2000 ($600 mo + concessions)to break the lease free & clear. This was unaffordable to me so I walked away. In February 2011 I received a letter from US Collections West stating my current balance was $4000 & they were willing to settle if I contacted them. I ignored it. This account is currently only reported to Experian in the amount of $3605 last updated January 2011.

My Goal is to settle this account for no more than $2000, keep it from reporting on on Equifax & TransUnion & bonus have it removed from Experian. When I send my  Settlement / PFD offer should say I'm willing to pay $2000 or should I go lower in preparation for a counter offer?

Entered Garden 6/3/2014, Staying until Jun 2016. Score 797 via Discover
Chase Freedom 0/$3000, Amex BC 0/$5000, Wells Fargo 0/$2400, Amazon 0/$5000, Discover IT 150/$4800, Walmart Mastercard $0/$5000, Barclay NFL AZ Cardinals 0/$5000
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
rckstrscott
Valued Contributor

Re: Settlement Offer

@pt145 wrote:

The time has come to settle up with a Collection Account that I've been ignoring for about 4 years now (SOL Is 6 years) . I'm soon to be a new father in May & this has encouraged me to look into buying a house for the first time. This leads me down the path of riding myself of past due obligations.