Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I close accounts?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I close accounts?

Hello, everyone. I have been reading the forums for awhile now, but this is my first time posting, so pardon me if this post is in the wrong section or if I am doing any of this incorrectly.

I have a question about closing accounts, but first I will give some background info. I screwed up my credit pretty badly about ten years ago when I turned 18 and was going through some pretty major mental health issues. Anyway, all of that fell off my credit report a few years ago, and recently I decided I was mature and stable enough to start rebuilding my credit and getting credit cards. When I first started rebuilding last September, I had no FICO score and basically a clean slate, which was great, given what my credit report had previously looked like. After researching the best ways to build credit, I learned about the benefits of being added as an AU, so I asked my mom to add me to her Discover card, which has a very low utilization on when it reports (and always PIF before due date), and which has been open for 27 years. This instantly gave me a FICO score in the mid-600s. Shortly after, I received a mail offer from Credit One (ugh, I know), so I decided to just get a card from them as a way to start building my credit file up. My husband got a card with Capital One in December and added me as an AU in January. After that, I decided I needed to have more credit that was in my name, but I didn't prequalify for anything, as I had just gotten a FICO score. So I did the SCT and got a card from New York & Co., which is a store I have never shopped at and likely never will. I know...that was foolish.