cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I file bankruptcy or just keep rebuilding?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I file bankruptcy or just keep rebuilding?

I have judgements with the major lenders. Capital One from 10+ years ago yet they still let me back in with a secured card and a $200 limit. I know there is a possibility from what I read on this forum that it will never graduate but at least I am in for now and I'm only out $49. I still get notices in the mail about it from Portfollio Recoverery.

I was thinking of trying Discover Secured and BOA secured eventually. Should I do this now? Or should I file for bankructy?

Will I just be stuck in secured, low limits until the judgements fade more and more in the background?

Anyone ever NOT file and regret it? Or do you regret it more filing?

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
pizzaman1
Valued Member

Re: Should I file bankruptcy or just keep rebuilding?

Hey I'm not an expert but I filed a year ago haven't looked back since. Although I still have some work to do all my cards are unsecured. I do carry some balances but I've not been late once and my scores are in the mid 600. I'm happy I filed and I can get my life in order
Starting Score: 502
Current Score: 660
Goal Score: 750

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

I have judgements with the major lenders. Capital One from 10+ years ago yet they still let me back in with a secured card and a $200 limit. I know there is a possibility from what I read on this forum that it will never graduate but at least I am in for now and I'm only out $49. I still get notices in the mail about it from Portfollio Recoverery.

I was thinking of trying Discover Secured and BOA secured eventually. Should I do this now? Or should I file for bankructy?

Will I just be stuck in secured, low limits until the judgements fade more and more in the background?