Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting Over

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Starting Over

I could use some advise. It's been a long journey for me. After near perfect credit. An ugly divorce eventually left me with no choice other than to file Chapter 13 BK.  My house and car was excuded and continued to paid on time (as it always had been.)   After five years @ over $1100 per month payments I was done.  Oddly, I just got my discharge on Monday. Why it took  eight months, no one can tell me. My lawyer was useless.  My questions - when do I run my credit report, to find a starting point ?  I have been paying my mortgage for seven years (never late.)  Is it necessary to get a credit card in order to rebuild my credit ?  Does anyone have any other advise ? I would eventually like to refi my mortgage. My husband, who is was party to the BK is not on the mortgage (and has superior credit)  and can be added but I know I still have to wait.  Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
annielorie
Valued Contributor

Re: Starting Over

Sadly the only thing you can do is a time thing.  Yes to the CC you may have difficulty with the BK but the others will chime in that have dealt with it but definitely two cards probably secured and timely payments continued .  Also get credit reports in case anything that was included in BK shows up as 180 late / chargeoff.  Hang in there!

Starting Score: 0
Current Score: TR??FICOEQ ?? FICO
Goal Score: 760

Lowes7,000 Discover More 2800. Jcpenny 6,000
Chase freedom 800 Never take NO for an answer!!
Message 2 of 11
fishbjc
Senior Contributor

I don't know about regular banks, but credit unions seem to be the way to go.  Please keep up with your credit reports, some of these peeps can be sneaky!

Message 3 of 11
phillyguy12
Frequent Contributor