Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Loan older than 15 yrs

tag
riverajuan
Valued Member

Student Loan older than 15 yrs

Hi to everyone on this incredible site full of great advise and information. I am new to this site, but have a questions as I am in the process of working with my own credit problems as everyone. My questions is:

Do I have to make payments on a Student loan that is over 15 yrs old? - and if I do how should I proceed?

Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
wahmom
Frequent Contributor

Re: Student Loan older than 15 yrs

I'm pretty sure that there is no statute of limitations regarding student loans. The government will eventually want their money. But I'm no expert and hopefully Wonderin or someone else with experience will reply soon.

You might want to check the student loan section of the board.
Message 2 of 7
riverajuan
Valued Member

Thanks for your input, all advise is welcome.

Thank you, for your time and reply

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

riverajuan wrote:
Hi to everyone on this incredible site full of great advise and information. I am new to this site, but have a questions as I am in the process of working with my own credit problems as everyone. My questions is:

Do I have to make payments on a Student loan that is over 15 yrs old? - and if I do how should I proceed?

Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Student loans have no statutes of limitations.

They will get their money, eventually. If it is government student loan, they'll probably eventually garnish your taxes.
Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

This is simple. Get a copy of your credit report from annualcreditreport and find out their address and contact info. Contact them about paying it, and do so. (If it's the Dept of Education, look at the bottom of this post for a link.)

Student loans are absolutely the WORST things to not pay.

Per ed.gov: