cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using a personal loan company to build a credit history.

tag
ScottTee

Using a personal loan company to build a credit history.

I'm new to the credit game and I'm in the process of getting all of my details for my history as of now but I know it's not a good picture so far.  What I am curious to know is using a company like "Sun Loan" a good idea to build a recent credit history.  It's basically one of those places that offers high interest small personal loans, I believe it would be reported as an installment loan even though the amount is very low and I fully understand I'm going to pay for the privilege of doing this.  I'm aware of going the secured card route and I'm almost certainly going to go that route however I'd like to keep my HP's to a minimum and I didn't realize it was such an issue to have that on my CR and I have recently done a few and one of them was from this Sun Loan company so I thought maybe I should just take advantage of the HP and just do a small loan.

My other issue is this, is having something like this on my CR going to look bad in the future if I actually take advantage of this very high interest loan to other companies?  I keep hearing about how people say it wont matter because at the end of the day its history etc but then people bring up the good point of an actual person looking at it and seeing it and thinking "risk."  I have to admit, if I was looking at a CR and saw that, I would think the same thing too.