cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What should I do???

tag
MisterAli

What should I do???

Hi I am new to MyFico although I have been viewing the forums for a while. I filed chapter 7 bankruptcy in Feb 2014 with a creditkarma score of 517 and recieved discharge paper last week May 2014 my creditkarma score had jumped to 624.

I wanted to waste no time rebuilding. I didnt know how off that score was so i applied for an unsecured cap1 card and was denied. I then went for the secured and was also denied. As a last resort I applied for credit 1 bank preapproval and was denied. 

I finally singed up for mifico and got a score of 542. Is there any card i can get to start reestablishing credit. What about opening a cd and borrowing? Would i even get approved?

My plan was to rebuild enough for a car loun this fall but it doesnt look like it will be that easy. Do i just need to wait and do nothing until the bk isnt so recent?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: What should I do???

@MisterAli wrote:

Hi I am new to MyFico although I have been viewing the forums for a while. I filed chapter 7 bankruptcy in Feb 2014 with a creditkarma score of 517 and recieved discharge paper last week May 2014 my creditkarma score had jumped to 624.

I wanted to waste no time rebuilding. I didnt know how off that score was so i applied for an unsecured cap1 card and was denied. I then went for the secured and was also denied. As a last resort I applied for credit 1 bank preapproval and was denied. 

I finally singed up for mifico and got a score of 542. Is there any card i can get to start reestablishing credit. What about opening a cd and borrowing? Would i even get approved?

My plan was to rebuild enough for a car loun this fall but it doesnt look like it will be that easy. Do i just need to wait and do nothing until the bk isnt so recent?