cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to do when chargeoff/collection wont do a pay for delete?

tag
ScottL
New Contributor

What to do when chargeoff/collection wont do a pay for delete?

I have been rebuilding my credit for 2 years now. I have made all my payments on time on my mortgage, car and my credit cards.

The main thing keeping me from a good looking credit report, are 3 charge off/collection accounts. (Discover, RentDebt and TXU Electric)  All this occured years ago when I was going through a divorce. Got an apartment, wife begged me back, came back home and had to bail on my lease of the apartment and was a bad time financially as I had also just lost my job and additional bills were neglected.

Discover and Rent Debt both say they will take settlements. I think rentdebt may take a PFD only if i make a one time settlement payment, but will cost me abotu $2500 that i do not have at the moment. She said if i make payments, they will not delete it. But who knows, once paid off maybe they will?

Discover will take a settlement with payments. Not sure if they will delete afterwards or not though. I need to call them back and see. But if I recall, they said they couldnt guarntee it.

Then TXU electric is only $167, i called to pay it but they wont do a PFD and was rude about it. so i hung up and didnt pay it.

so my question is, if i start making payments to the 2 big ones and payoff the one small one. And they do not agree to do a PFD, when they become paid in full.  is there anything i can do at that point to have them removed? or am i still stuck with them for another 3 years or so?  once they report as paid and they do stay on there, will that improve my score at all?  these 3 accounts are really hurting my score and I feel like preventing me from a high 600s score or more and preventing me from taking that next step in credit for airline rewards, low rates, higher credit line accounts, etc.