Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

advice on rebuilding my credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

advice on rebuilding my credit

hey everyone, i hope you're all well, little bit about me, i am a 32 year old male with a degree from the now defunct ITT Tech and am currently in the process of rebuilding my credit so that i can get a house for me and my fiancee,

Equifax 643

Transunion 561 (though it does state my score and report is 113days old)

Experian 605

since i graduated my student loans have been in default mostly because i didnt have full time work from 2010 - 2014, but then in 2014 i got a contract job that was full time doing tech support at a local hospital and thanks to that about 5 or so months later i got a full permanent job at the same hospital doing the same work and have been here for 4 years and i couldnt be happier

at the same time some investments my fiancee did finally paid off and she settled all of her student loans and she helped me settle my private student loans, my federal student loans are currently on hold as the department of education is reviewing them to see if they can be fully or partially forgiven under something about if a school gets shut down if they committed fraud or something

and they are going to be under review until april of 2020, i am hopeful that some will be forgiven but at the same time doubtful they will be at all, anyway with my private loans gone they are still showing on my credit reports now i know disputing them can be a bad thing but should i dispuit them to try and get them removed?

i also finally got my first secured credit card (opensky they were the only ones to accept me) and i am going to use it to pay for netflix etc i have a $1000 dollar limit but am wondering what else i can do to try and build my credit up, thanks to a family member i was able to purchase a new car and it does show on my report but it does not increase my score at all.