Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

negotiating a pfd with a creditor

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

negotiating a pfd with a creditor

How does one approach a creditor to approve a pfd?  Once you get the creditor interested and of course that is an if, what do you need from them to ensure they will honor the agreement?  If they agree, do you need a letter from the before you make payment?  Obviosuly verbal would not be enough.  Could it be in the form of an email or does it have to be in writing?  Will they say just pay it and the letter will follow?  I am totally new to this type of negtioiating as a result I would be fresh meat to a creditor.  Just looking for some guidance.  Thanks in advance for all your help.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: negotiating a pfd with a creditor

My only experience with a sucessful PFD was Midland Funding. I called, and asked for PFD. The customer service rep said that they would be able to do that, and promised me they would. I handed over my CC information, and then about a month later it was gone from my credit.

Message 2 of 9
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

A verbal agreement can be enough, as verbal contracts are enforceable.

The problem is that, if the creditor asserts they made no such agreement, then it is harder for the consumer to prove the contract agreement in court.

Creditors have good reason for not putting PFD agreements in writing, as they violate the conditions of their credit reporting agreements with the CRAs.  CRA policy explicitly instructs furnishers not to make such deletions, as they are in business to sell credit reports ,and the more complete the credit history, the more their value to their customers.