Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

settlement advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

settlement advice

I have an old judgement from 2005, I originally owe 5K and its around 6300 with interest and late fees.  This for an apartment I was unable to afford to live in when I was in college.  I was going to offer 1700.00. That covers the 4 months i did live there at 425.00 a month.  Is that too low ball, or should I go for 2k or 2500?  I know its crazy to attempt more money but I figure they will probaly counter a higher amount anyways. 

Also, if they do counter offer should I ask for a description of what I am being charged for?  I would be willing to pay the $4975.00 if they can show what the money is paying for.  Im not paying extra for a file to sit on a desk for years collecting interest, and Im not paying for letters to be mailed out.  I work in the legal field it doesnt take an hour to mail a letter to a client.  Thanks for the help.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Heavanly1
Regular Contributor

Re: settlement advice

I had a judgement against me for $4800 ($2200 for the original debt and $2600 in interest and fees). I settled in full for $1200. I'm sure a lot of it had to do with the fact that I hired an attorney and the CA didn't want to deal with a legal battle.

I say offer to settle for $1700 but be prepared for them to reject it and counteroffer.

Message 2 of 6
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

As a preface, you say there was a legal judgment.

What were the payment terms specified by the court under that judgment?

Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable