Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

:( - so close...

tag
Hopelives2
Regular Contributor

:( - so close...

My story is plastered all over here in bits and pieces so, I'll try to make this short and sweet.

A few years ago, I started down the path to apply to medical school.  As an older non-trad student, I am not eligible for student loans so I paid out of pocket and went as I could.

During Fall 2011, I was enrolled in a biology class where the professor invited students to apply for the trip to Galapagos.  I applied, was accepted into the program, paid my deposit, paid for the rest of the semester.

My contract for the spring 2012 was not renewed but I was quickly picked up by a new contract; ironically, with the university's medical school as director of finance.  Anyway, the newspaper got wind that the nursing school was hiring contractors instead of full-time employees, and the medical school got nervous, so my contract ended rather abruptly.  The CFO, my boss, is one of my stellar references so I know it wasn't because of me.

So, the Galapagos research trip has an "out" clause whereby you lose your deposit but they will take someone off the wait list to go in one's place.  I wrote the professor telling him I did not think I could go and that he should find a replacement.

He'd taken a hankering to me.  My friends saw it, I was oblivious to a point (yes, I knew he liked me but I did not see the "LIKE" part at all).

Suffice to say, he never tried to replace me despite repeated attempts requesting he'd do just that.  My choices at end of term were to go and pay the $5,000 or stay behind and still pay the $5,000.

I went.

Upon return, I paid the university some $2,500 toward my tuition bill leaving a balance of $7,500.  In the midst of moving out of state, nearly 1500 miles away... well, things got away from me.

I've never intended to not pay the remainder of my tuition, it is what I owe.