Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The polarization of men losing their breadwinner role

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: The polarization of men losing their breadwinner role

Fully agree with most of the guys on this thread. I'd be stoked if my wife made more than me (her income rising, not mine falling, please Smiley Surprised). I've know guys whose ego would be severely damaged if they made less than their spouse, and I simply cannot understand that mindset. The more money coming in, the better! Doesn't matter who's making it.

As for housework, my wife does more than I do. But not by a too ridiculous amount; maybe a 65/35 split. Which, incidentally, is about the exact inverse of how our income matches up...coincidence? 

Message 11 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

My husband is a stay at home dad. When I graduated college, we had 1 kid with 1 on the way. We looked at the finances and the idea of what we would pay in terms of daycare or a babysitter, and found that his income would be eaten up entirely by that expense. I made more money due to my degree in nursing, so we decided that it would be better if one of us was home to raise the kids rather than a stranger. My income covers all our expenses with some to spare.

I can say that my husband goes through bouts where he feels bad that he isn't helping out more financially, but I find this happens when other guys he knows say things like he doesn't "have to work" and things of that nature. He mentions that he would like to find a job but then says, "who wants to hire someone who has to be off during the summers and has set hours during the school year"? He also cannot work night shift due to a medical condition. He usually feels fine about it and is not wanting for luxuries (I just got him a $1500 guitar for our anniversary). We really try to work together on everything.