Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When to do right by your significant other

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

When to do right by your significant other

I've made a few post on other subforums about my situation, as you can tell my by name I am a disabled veteran. I have a plethora of physical and emotional conditions related to my military service and for one or both reasons they have always interfered with my ability to maintain a longterm job.

I'm educated, always made excellent income but never for more than a year or so before one or more conditions would cause a catastrophic interference with my employment.

9 years ago I met my fiance, I walked into an er and saw the most stunning woman I ever saw, she took my breath away. I was a teleradiology manager at the time and was working on my laptop while in her er. We flirted back and forth and at the end of my stay I dropped my number in her hand and walked out the door and we haven't looked back since.

So needless to say she encouraged me to apply for va benefits and my final melt down occurred and I didn't work over 5 years and she supported me while I waited for my benefits. She went broke doing so, and ruined her credit sometimes we fought but she never once wavered in her support of me.

After years of waiting and appeal after appeal finally the day came when a significant deposit was made into my bank account, the day after my birthday in fact. I woke her up at 3 am, and she started crying, not small tears, balling. Not because our financial troubles were answered, but because my years of fighting and going without were over, that I was finally validated. I would never pay a single medical bill, doctors visit or a prescription again for as long as I live.