Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Car Insurance Under 25

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Car Insurance Under 25

As my handle shows, I'm a student. Unfortunately I'm still under 25. Soon I'll be moving for work and will no longer be able to stay with my parents' car insurance company as they are regional.

Does anybody have a recommendation for car insurance? I checked USAA and their premiums seem on the high side (~$200/mo). I selected high deductibles and high coverage limits.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Car Insurance Under 25

I was reading an article on a FIRE blogger's site the other day that recommended using The Zebra to compare rates.

Also see if any accounts/memberships you have (or have access to) offer discounts with any of the popular providers.

Message 2 of 11
Np1791
Frequent Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

As my handle shows, I'm a student. Unfortunately I'm still under 25. Soon I'll be moving for work and will no longer be able to stay with my parents' car insurance company as they are regional.

Does anybody have a recommendation for car insurance? I checked USAA and their premiums seem on the high side (~$200/mo). I selected high deductibles and high coverage limits.

Thanks!

Who told you you couldn't stay on your parents policy? Are you going out of the country or? Also is the vehicle under your name? 

As of 11/28/2018
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Np1791 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

Thanks!

Who told you you couldn't stay on your parents policy? Are you going out of the country or? Also is the vehicle under your name? 

Generally auto insurance is by state. I stayed with the same company moving from FL to NY, but I had to cancel my FL policy and sign up with their NY division.

Message 4 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable