cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If you could only have three rewards cards...

tag
SpiritSoul11
Established Member

If you could only have three rewards cards...

So I'm new to this, but I want to get your opinions about the top three rewards cards you would have and their other benefits.

For me, I don't believe in paying annual fees, and having a low APR doesn't matter since I like to pay mine off every month. 

So the top 3 for me at the current moment (and I am willing to change my mind with your help) would be:

1. Navy Federal More Rewards American Express

3X points at restaurants and on food delivery
3X points at supermarkets
3X points on gas and transit
1X points on everything else

2. Apple Card

3X points at Apple

2X points everywhere when you use Apple Pay

No fees

3. Chase Freedom Flex

5% in revolving bonus categories

5% on travel booked through Chase

3% cash back at restaurants and drugstores

1% on other purchases.

New cardholders also get 5% back on up to $12,000 in grocery store purchases in the first year (not including Target or Walmart)

Earn a $200 Bonus after you spend $500 on purchases in your first 3 months from account opening.

Let me know what you think, and your picks.

Revolving

Installment

Accounts
Message 1 of 38
37 REPLIES 37
KJinNC
Valued Contributor

Re: If you could only have three rewards cards...

I'd do AOD (3% everywhere), or if you don't want to jump through the hoops to get AOD, I'd do a 2% cash back card instead of Apple Card. Otherwise, your list looks good for a three-card, no-AF setup. You could replace the Chase card with Discover and it would be about the same. You could also get the US Bank card that lets you choose two 5% categories, but those categories are very specific (for example, one category is "fast food", vs the rotating categories are "dining out").