Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Insurance Settlement questions

tag
Horseshoez
Valued Contributor

Insurance Settlement questions

Hey gang,

This is decidedly a non-myFICO type of question, but because so many of y'all seem to have so much experience and knowledge in such wide ranging topics relative to finance, I'm hoping this is a good place to ask the question.

Background:

• I'm in my mid-60s but need to work until the end of the decade to make sure I have enough salted away for retirement.
  • I'm very physically active and a runner, typically logging one to two hundred miles per month.
  • I have a fairly high end career where I am an Architect for "Conversational AI Systems" (i.e. teaching computers how to have a verbal conversation with a human within a very limited domain of expertise).
  • Long story short, if my brain isn't firing on all cylinders, I cannot do my job and will need to retire years befor the plan.

Situation:

Last Monday, 12-Jul, I was out for a 7-mile trail run, and as I was nearing the end I was running by a home which borders the horse farm where my wife and I rent a small care-taker apartment.  As I was passing the home, currently with a new pool going in and landscaping happening, their two dogs, 170 and 150 pounds respective, charged across their lawn and blew through where their "invisible fence" would normally have stopped them in their tracks.  I faced off with the largest of the two, however, the smaller one, circled around and bit me hard on the back of the right knee; the next thing I remember the owner of the dogs, which were no where in sight, was helping me get up from where I'd collapsed in the middle of the street.  Being a "typical guy", I had no idea how seriously injured I was and asked her to drive me home instead of taking me to a hospital; I remember taking my running shoes off and going inside, and then the next thing I remembered was waking up in the ICU some 30 hours later.