Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asking for a friend as I have no experience here

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Asking for a friend as I have no experience here

My awesome and amazing friend went to law school, obtained her goal of being a lawyer and is now with a small firm. She has 24 student loans that have come out of deferment. She missed the first payment on each not realizing they were out already as she thought it was still a few months off creating 24 30 days lates. They also are heafty amounts. I am trying to come up with options that can help with those lates (GW letters I already spoke about if anyone has a fill in the blanl sample they want to post for me to pass along that has success) AND, most importantly, ways to help forgive/knock down what is a crazy large amount of money so in 20 years it still isn't being paid on. Help?
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Asking for a friend as I have no experience here

Hi,

Here is the link for the GW letter examples.

http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Rebuilding-Your-Credit/GW-letter-Q-amp-A-Examples-and-GW-Success-Sto...

I think her best bet is to call the loaners and discuss a payment plan ASAP. She has to figure out what she can pay monthly and get serious about repayment. Most of my lawyer friends had over $250K in school loans and managed to pay it back in time by being responsible and having autopays lined up for each account.

I personally don't think now is the time for her to ask for forgiveness or loan reductions. She is already asking for leniency with the GW letters. She has just entered the work force and it will be an adjustment but she should be able to manage. That's just my opinion though, i'm sure others will chip in with theirs.

Best of luck to your awesome amazing friend!

Message 2 of 5
beutiful5678
Frequent Contributor

Are these private loans or federal loans?

EX 8: Aug 2021 - 692 | EQ 8: Aug 2021 - 714 | TU 8: Aug 2021 - 673