cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best option for me to refi student loans?

tag
nitrov
Established Contributor

Best option for me to refi student loans?

Hi guys, this is my first time looking into refinancing my student loans, but I figure since I can't deduct my interest on my taxes anymore, I may as well try to save some money on interest with them.

I have 2 federal student loans currently through Navient totalling $36k at a 5.75% interest rate, about $14k subsidized and $22k unsubsidized. Right now I'm the income-based repayment schedule, but I casually perused some pre-approval rates through Credible and SoFi today and got some pre-approvals that were decent, 3.33% for 7 years variable, or about 4.75% for 8 years fixed were the two best ones in my opinion. I don't want my payments to be too high, I'd like them to stay under $500 if possible.

My credit score according to Upstart (TU) is a 734, per Amex (EX) is a 729, and EQ should be right around there as well. I just recently paid off about $10k in my debt so my DTI is improving, util is about 10%, and I have no derogs/baddies. 

I just wanted to see what success people have had with getting the best rate for a refi and where I should look to try and get something good. My income is good. Thanks, guys!

My Top 3: Amex Delta Platinum ($30k) | Amex PRG | Citi Prestige ($30k) |

Starting scores 600-640 (2013), current 765-775 (2019); It is possible!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Best option for me to refi student loans?