Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building Credit - 1st Year Student Loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Building Credit - 1st Year Student Loan

Hi there, I posted another topic in the general credit card discussion board... I am extremely new to credit and anything of the like. I'm an 18 year old college student who's looking to move out and get her life headed in to right direction, and a huge part of that is having a good credit score. I was recently approved for a capital one credit card for $300, I'm very happy about that. I've been keeping up on my payments and hopefully they'll give me a little bit more credit after the upcoming five months of on-time payments... I was also approved for a federal student loan by my school of $10,000 for the '14-'15 school year. My main question is, how does this affect my score? My loan specifies that I don't have to repay any loans until 6 months to 1 year after I graduate, however, would it reflect badly if I did wait that long? Should I start repaying my loan throughout my school year? 

I'm the type of person who likes to plan ahead and know what to expect... and I'm really not sure what I'm in for, that's why I'm inquiring about it. Can anyone give me advice and/or information from their past/present experiences? Thanks! Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
SCF
Valued Contributor

Re: Building Credit - 1st Year Student Loan

Do you need the loan?  If your goal is just to build credit, I would reccomend taking a small amount ($1-2k perhaps) in subsidized loans if possible, and letting the money sit in a savings account throughout your schooling.  Then, you can pay the loan back after four years, and because it was subsidized, you will owe no interest.