cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I consolidate my Fedloan in with my Navient loan?

tag
msann
Valued Member

Can I consolidate my Fedloan in with my Navient loan?

I have 6 different loans with Navieny that I have been paying for a few years. I just finishing rehabbing 6 more loans then they were transferred to Fedloan. I am about to buy a house I really only need to show 1 Student loan payment, so possibly I can afford more house. Can I consolidate these loans into one either with Navient or Fedloan? Also, will it affect my credit?
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Can I consolidate my Fedloan in with my Navient loan?

I'm not a professional nor have I done this myself (blah, blah, blah) but here's my advice.
You've completed the rehab which I always recommend to people because it removes the default. Sometimes it even removes the lates. Now that you're back in repayment, you'll continue payment on the loans, which may be your oldest tradelines. Not only this, you'll have positive payments times 12 (if I understand your post). 12 good payments per month will only help your credit. Additionally, if you sign up for an Income-driven repayment plan for some loans they can use your monthly payment as a part of the calculations instead of the total debt owed.
Also, to consolidate, you'll end up with a brand new loan, at 100% utilization, for the total you owe. This is not a positive on your credit. Any payments you would have made towards loan forgiveness would be lost too.
I think you should talk to a mortgage professional before you make a big decision such as consolidation. I don't think you need to do it...in fact I think it would probably only lower your score, in theory. You might find that with a simple switch in payment plans, if you're not already on IDR, will benefit you more.
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable