Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Consolidation Error--Perkins Default

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Consolidation Error--Perkins Default

Thirteen years after graduation, Ive come across a strange situation. I graduated in 2005, consolidated my loans in 2006. My private loans were always through Sallie Mae and are paid in full. Ive been paying on my government loans and am nearly complete. I consolidated with ACS, was sent to Brazos, and now have Nelnet. All has been going without a hitch until I decided to take up my employer's offer of a full tuition grant for a Masters degree.

When I requested my transcript, I got an error that there was a hold due to Perkins loan default. I though this was obviously wrong as I have a 791 credit score, two mortgages with VA loans, and I'm a military spouse so it's not like it's very hard to find me by SSN. I went to annualcreditreport and pulled my three reports. There is no mention of a default and Sallie Mae is reported as paid in full and Nelnet as current with no missed payments. 

I called the school and they said the Perkins loan was shortpaid when I consolidated by $275 and that there is a payoff amount of $542. They directed me to NSLDS to verify. I logged in there and got an error message about no identifiers being met. I contacted them and they directed me to American Student Assistance. I then went to the college's treasurer office. They said I owe no balance to the school but that I neded to contact ECSI to make he $542 payment. The College said since it was such a small amount that it was likely it was never reported.I then called the ombudsman since I was getting directed to many different companies and couldn't log in to NSLDS to verify any of this. They said they saw the balance but the Dept of Ed does not hold the loan. I called ECSI and they say that they do not have the loan either. They directed me to a collections agency.