cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contesting the "AMOUNT OWED" for my Navient(Sally Mae) Student Loans. Any advice appreciate.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Contesting the "AMOUNT OWED" for my Navient(Sally Mae) Student Loans. Any advice appreciate.

I'll make this short and sweet, but if you need more infomation, please ask.

I'm a veteran, who worked in sales for ten years after separating(honorably) from the U.S. Navy and after the '08 financial crisis, I decided to go back to school, however, because I waited ten years to attend college, my G.I. Bill(Post 9/11 G.I. Bill) would "only" pay 80% of my tuition.

So, while in college, i spent every semester arguing with my school's finance office that I have the G.I. Bill and FAFSA covers the remaining 20%, so they would waive they amount due, after doing whatever they do internally!

Anyway, after graduation and had just over a year to start repaying my student loans(20% of my tuition), however, I was told that I owe $43K, which is now $7K with fees and all. Because I graduated my school's finance office would only tell me to contact FAFSA and basically threw their hands up in the air.

Then, when I contacted the Veteran's Administration's Dept of Education office, they would play stupid and transfer me numerous times in one call, refusing to give me a "DIRECT" contact number, instead of having to be transfered five times each and everytime I call for student loans, so I made a mistake and just said, "The heck with it! I'm not going to pay $47K in student loans at a state school, of which my G.I. Bill paid 80%!  Again, I attended an extremely popular "STATE" school in N. Florida, not Yale or Harvard!

There's absolutely no way, the remaining 20% equals anywhere close to $47K.

After the '08 crisis, I used cash for everything and even though I had zero debt, I also had zero credit and when those student loans hit my credit, I was in the mid-400's.

I stated all that to ask this: