cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discharged Student Loan from Navient / Sallie Mae Showing up on Parents Credit Report - What to do?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Discharged Student Loan from Navient / Sallie Mae Showing up on Parents Credit Report - What to do?

Hello All, This is my first post.

I've spent many hours reading and gaining advice from these forums and am thankful for how helpful it has been. 

Would appreciate the wisdom of the community on this one. 

I had a Sallie Mae Private Student Loan that I took out for undergrad on Oct 20, 2006. Right before 2008/2009, that period when it felt like the world was going to explode! The loan was for 25k and I began paying on it when I graduated in 2008. With the job market in the tank, I was unable to pay on it and defaulted on the loan with my last payment on Apr 22, 2013 when the loan was charged off by Sallie Mae. 

I live in California and know that because I have not paid on it the statute of limitations on the loan has since run out (4years). The loan is still on my credit report but is showing as charged off and I have been able to rebound and rebuild my credit because of these forums.

The main issue is that it is still showing up on my Fathers credit report and the most deceiving thing is that the loan transferred to Navient who has tripled the loan to 75k and has been reporting the loan as paid on time every month which it is not! The loan has been charged off and they continue to report and run the interest on the loan.

My question is how should I handle getting this removed from my fathers' account.  Should I dispute with the credit bureaus on behalf of my father and how would you all suggest I do so ?

If any of you have had a similar experience? Any and all advice would be appreciated. 

Thank you 

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Discharged Student Loan from Navient / Sallie Mae Showing up on Parents Credit Report - What to