cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evading Student Loans - can you really do that?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Evading Student Loans - can you really do that?

A friend of mine is about to complete his law school degree and has over 160k of graduate debt and 40k of undergraduate debt (these 200k loan probably combined federal and private loans). He holds a green card and told me (literally), I quote, "after getting this piece of paper (degree) I'm gonna leave this country and never come back."

Can he do that? What are the consequences? Should I talk him into not doing that? ... 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
stellar
Established Contributor

Re: Evading Student Loans - can you really do that?

Wow...good riddance!

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well he's grown so technically he can do whatever. Unless he asked your opinion I would stay out of it. That doesn't mean I think it's wise. I am far from an expert, but I have never seen someone track you down like Sallie Mae! I would question how long that trails behind them. If it could effect taking the bar or getting licenced in other states/out of the country. I would also question what happens to any US assets when he defaults.

Message 3 of 10
SCF
Valued Contributor

He can do whatever he wants - no one is going to stop you from leaving the country just because you have student loan debt.  That said, if he ever tried to practice or live in the US in the future, he could run into some serious issues.  Some states have penalties (like losing your driver's license) for defaulting on student loans, and he would have a hard time being admitted to the bar with the questionable ethics of walking away from his debt with no intention to repay.