cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Federal Student Loan Rehab Effect on Score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Federal Student Loan Rehab Effect on Score?

Hi all, I graduated from college back in 2008. For many many years after that I was quite poor (hovering around the poverty level, food stamps etc) I didn't even attempt at paying back my $20k of federal student loans, had my car repo'd, evicted from my apartment, judgement against me you name it! 

Fastforward 10 years later, life is a lot different. My income is now probably in the top 1-2% of Americans all the derogs have fallen off my credit and I have a score in the high 7's now. 

However I still haven't dealt with my federal student loans. I know these never go away and there's no statute of limitations. However my student loans are completely gone from my score. I'm worried that if I rehabilitate them that all the previous years of deliquent payment will show up on my credit. I'm not sure if this is how it works for federal loans (I know it is how it works for old revolving credit accounts though)

I'm lucky in that the government hasn't come after me yet, but I do want to get this handled. Any advice on how to proceed? 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
calyx
Super Contributor

Re: Federal Student Loan Rehab Effect on Score?

You have two options:  Rehab and Consolidation

I would go for rehab.  The default is removed from your student loans, and you'll end up with positive lines with the original opening date, so that could help your age related metrics (maybe, depending on threshholds crossed).

Consolidation would start a new tradeline, so you would be reducing your age factors and possibly lowering them past threshholds.

Ultimately, it would not have a drastic effect unless you had no installment loan, in which case it would help you satisfy your credit mix and increase your score there.