Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feeling absolutely hopeless in the new year

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Feeling absolutely hopeless in the new year

I understand that the subject line is a bit dismal in tone, but in  short, I've even been denied for a secured credit card. My credit score has been utterly tanked relative to how it was before.

There is this rogue student loan for $4000 from the State on my account. It had become a charge off, I think. It has some payments on it, then the payments just stop. The account is now closed delinquent.

Sounds normal until I mention the fact that I never saw a promissary note or signed anything relating to a loan. It's even more annoying considering I have all on-time payments and great records with all my other accounts. 

I was not speaking to my parents during the time this loan was taken out, 2013. At that time I was living on my own. I graduated in '14. I'm so frustrated. I never got phone calls, bills through the mail or e-mail or anything. Nobody told me about this and I have no documents to prove that I didn't take it out because, as I've said, I did not get any documentation through the mail. Yes, now I know it sounds extremely suspect and it ssounds like I'm lying. That's another reason why Ifeel so upset about this.

Just for bg info, I do have other loans that I signed for. I went into an office with my parents and I knew fully what I was signing for then. I mentioned before that those loans were fine. I recently consolidated them but that's about as interesting as that bit gets.

I don't know what to do or where to start. It all feels incredibly hopeless. I just need to take the first step, but I don't know what that is. Help or kind words is appreciated. 

PS happy new year, everyone

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
stellar
Established Contributor

Re: Feeling absolutely hopeless in the new year