cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going to need to cosign Student Loans for my son....HELP!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Going to need to cosign Student Loans for my son....HELP!

Hey everyone, 

I am new to this student loan stuff. My ex-wife handled it all for my oldest and never discussed it with me. Now that my son is going off to college, she dropped it all in my lap and said "It's all on you."

A Few Questions I have: 

1. What Credit Reports do they pull for Loan Apps?
  2. What Credit Score will be needed to successfully get a loan?
  3. As a cosigner, will a really old collection (not paid) ruin my chances of cosigning?
  4. He will be living off campus, Will we be able to use student loans for off campus housing?
  5. Are there more options available than Sallie Mae? 
  6. If so, How do we choose who to go with?

I am sure there are many more questions that I am not thinking of but this is a start.

Thanks in advance,

-Solo

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
LakeLife
Established Contributor

Re: Going to need to cosign Student Loans for my son....HELP!

We'll need to know more about your income to point out what other loan options are out there for you.  Sallie Mae has better interest rates if you start paying at least the interest as soon as the loan is dispersed via automatic deductions.  I'm not sure about how stringent the loan requirements are, and I'll leave that to others in this thread.  

I would ask you this though, do you plan on paying the loan back yourself?  If not, and you expect your son to pay it back, please think very carefully about cosigning on this as it can have long term negative consequences to your financial future.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the response Robert.