cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IBR Repayment, and Negative Amortization, and High Balances! oh my!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

IBR Repayment, and Negative Amortization, and High Balances! oh my!

I'm new to the forum and looked for information on this topic, but was unsuccessful. I am a recent law school graduate with a high student debt balance (~180k) from some undergraduate and law school loans. Thankfully, I'm gainfully employed. In considering my repayment options, I am considering income-based repayment (IBR). The problem I am realizing is determining how much I should be prepaying on my load debt, if I should even be prepaying at all. Absent moral considerations of repaying all of the debt that I signed up to take on, if I am capable of doing it, IBR seems to provide an incentive of paying the minimum payment and having the balance cancelled after 25 years (I realize that this is taxable income during this year). As long as my salary doesn't reach a point where I will pay off the loan in 25 years paying the minimum payment, there is not much incentive to pay more than the minimum payment. If I foresee that happening, then it would make sense to at least pay the interest off as it is accruing in order to minimize the amount spent over the life of the loan.

With loans of this size, my initial minimum payment based off of my salary will not cover the accruing interest and the loan will be negatively amortizing until I reach a substantially larger salary. By this point, a substantial amount of interest will have accrued. My questions are how will all of this affect my credit score. 

1. Will having a large balance with low required monthly payments hurt my score? I know my debt to income ratio will not be affected because IBR is designed to keep the minimum payment manageable compared to income, but I have not found reliable information on what the looming balance will do to my score.