Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ICR certification questions/ 9-2019 Update to my loan/plans/etc

tag
calyx
Super Contributor

ICR certification questions/ 9-2019 Update to my loan/plans/etc

This is my first year on an IDR payment plan (technically I'm on the ICR plan, but whatever).
I am paying a significantly larger amount towards my student loans than required with the intent of getting this largely paid off in a couple of years, so my principle is much less than it would be.
I know I have to recertify student loans every year to stay on whatever IDR plan,  and I know that if I don't recertify I will go to the standard/10 year payment.   I have a couple of questions about the payment calculations and my google-fu isn't finding what I'm looking for.

If/When I recertify, I know they use my income to calculate my payment, but does the original or expected principle or the new principle get used in those calculations as well?

If I do not recertify, I know the loans will revert to the original 10 year standard payment, but do they use the original/expected principle or the new principle?

I am not concerned with the payment amount; and I don't actually care whether I'm on the standard or IDR (I was required to go to ICR to get out of default).   I just want to know if they recalculate the payment amount using the paid-ahead/down principle under either of these plans.

Happy practitioner of AZE7or8or9or10 | Team Finances > FICO
Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: IDR certification questions

Hi,
For the first part, no. Your payment is based solely on your AGI & household size. The loan amount is mainly only used to determine how long it will take you to pay off the loan or get forgiven (and at what amount). Which if course is flexible due to the annual recertification.