Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is a student loan that bad?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is a student loan that bad?

I'm in my second year of community college, compared to universities, tuition seems fairly cheap to me. It's 2500-3000 per term.

I have enough left in my college fund that my parents set up for 2 terms out of the 4 terms total that are left. 

My parents don't share much when it comes to financials, so I don't want to share on a public forum. However, my mother frequently complains about my dads spending and bill amounts. They should be pretty well off from what I could tell.

My father says after I use up my college fund I should leave college and work to save up the 5000(approx) for the last two terms. 

However, I am recently divorced single mother of 3 young children. Not possible to get a job within reasonable distance (as far as gas money goes) that can afford all me and my kids need and save up 5000 before my credits expire. 

Side note: I'm enrolled in a program that has 22% job growth outlook and easily within 2yrs in the field with good experience, could be making upwards of 65k which is much better than my usual 15k

I have a long history of struggle with college, working to get my financial aid back. My dad is extremely against any sort of loan. Reminds me each term "NO LOANS"

Big question: Is getting a student loan so bad? I have other resources maxed out, (other than grants/scholarships due to current, temporarily inability to get financial aid) and I can afford books and supplies. 

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
rostrow416
Established Contributor

Re: Is a student loan that bad?

If the options are either take out a student loan and finish school or drop out and save to finish later, you should just take the loan and finish.