Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Meritize Flight School Loan

tag
Clegga
Valued Member

Meritize Flight School Loan

Hello all,

I'm excited to share that I was approved with Meritize to fund my flight school training for a $75,000 loan at 4.60%. I'm in a career track program to work as a professional airline pilot upon completion of the program, so I'm not terribly worried about paying it off, and I have sufficiently researched flight schools so I feel confident that this is a fair price. I opted for a local flight school with good reviews over the national flight school ATP which has a higher sticker price of $91,995 currently. Since I graduated with my BA already, going to a 4 year aviation university like Embry-Riddle doesn't make sense for me.

Unfortunately, most flight schools are not universities and not eligible for participation in the FAFSA program, but I am applying for a scholarship through the National Gay Pilot's Association to help ease the cost of this loan ($5000-$10,000). Hopefully I'll get it!

I am terribly excited to begin my career as a pilot, but I feel cautious of taking out a loan this size. The loan agreement I signed states that I don't have to make payments for the first 12 months (the maximum duration of my program) and discloses that about $2200 interest will accrue in that time and capitalize. 

I do have $15,500 in federal loan debt from my undergraduate degree, which it is my understanding will all go into deferrment while I am a flight school student, but I still need to verify this as my loan servicer was not certain when I reached out to them. I only have subsidized loans, so no interest would accrue if I do get a deferrment.