Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Student Loans

tag
Cory88
Frequent Contributor

New Student Loans

I'm new to student loans but not to credit in general. Right then, I have seen that people has issues with student loan servicers and I don't know if the issues are they can't pay the loan or they forget to pay it. I have seen this issues and it's made me scared to get any as I have worked for 14 years to have 5 star credit and don't want to wreck my credit on a loan, I have no intendeds not to pay it back, it I'm more then pro active on making sure it's paid as with any of my loans / credit cards. My loans are not going to be much as my employer is paying for most of the cost and I only have to pay for books and a small part of my classes around 1k for books and classes each quarter so that my payment will be very low. I'm looking to see what people have issues with and ways to to make sure that everything goes well. One last thing when I talked to the US DOE reps told me that they services are know for not reporting loans right and people has a mess with it that also what makes me nervous.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
ccquest
Established Contributor

Re: New Student Loans

People generally have issues when they miss payments or need to deal with customer service for some reason. You can avoid both of those by just signing up for auto pay, linking your bank account info, and letting them handle themselves. I had no issues with the way Navient, Great Lakes, Sallie Mae, or Citizens/Firstmark have handled my account so far because I set them up to autopay and don't have to remember anything else.

Citizen's Bank has been very easy to work with on setting things up and adjusting things like due dates and payment amounts.
as of 1/1/23
Current Cards:
Message 2 of 7
Cory88
Frequent Contributor

@ccquest wrote: