Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not sure where to begin with Student Loans

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Not sure where to begin with Student Loans

Im an adult student just finishing Associates at a Community College paid for out of pocket. (approx 1600 a semester)  Ive applied to and been accepted into a few colleges in the area and will not be able to pay out of pocket (approx 8000 a semester). Im looking into every scholarship and grant possible. The schools keep suggesting loans and I was hoping I wont have to go the loan route. BUT, if I do what is the best way to go? I havent even started to shop and hoped you guys can point me in the least stressful, student loan direction.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
beutiful5678
Frequent Contributor

Re: Not sure where to begin with Student Loans

Your best bet are federal student loans through your school's financial aid office. Each year file your FAFSA as quickly as you possibly can because those who file sooner get more grants and subsidized loans as there is a finite amount to be awarded among all students (at least, this is what my university financial aid office told me). Subsidized student loans are better than unsubsidized because subsidized loans do not accrue interest while you're in school.

Avoid private loans if at all possible. If you must get private loans try to get them through a local credit union (if a credit union local to you offers student loans). When I was in school I got a private student loan from my local credit union for $7k for 5.5% which is a very low interest rate for a private student loan.

EX 8: Aug 2021 - 692 | EQ 8: Aug 2021 - 714 | TU 8: Aug 2021 - 673
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Exactly what beutiful5678 said.