cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Original trade lines for Student Loans not updated after Consolidation?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Original trade lines for Student Loans not updated after Consolidation?

So I am trying to clean up my CRs after Chapter 7 DC last October and I keep looking at these derogatory lates (yes 16 of them) on my original student loans. When I consolidated these loans, shouldn't the original ones have updated as paid? They are closed, but they say transferred to another lender, and 180, 120 late. They are NOT marked as paid, or pays as agreed.
Is this incorrect?
I was under the impression that these trade lines would be updated and/or removed.
My questions:
Are these reporting incorrectly?
Who do I contact if so? The original loan servicer? Or CRA's or both?
These are not due to fall off until 2021-2023 and they are killing my scores.
On a side note: I have been paying on the consolidation now for 4 months, no lates so I would have though that things would be updated by now??
Thoughts?
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Original trade lines for Student Loans not updated after Consolidation?

I'm not sure about the status they will be updated to, however they will not be removed. Unfortunately the effect of any late 90 days or more does not lessen over time so you will not gain those points back until the lates fall off. It is a huge point loss. You also mentioned bankruptcy, do you have any credit cards because if you don't, that will affect your score too.
You could always try to dispute the status with the CRA if it turns out they should be showing up as closed. I'm not sure what improvement that would make on your score though. It might just take time.
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks Sabii, and yes, I have 3 credit cards, the consolidated student loans, and a car payment all reporting positive now.