Did you mean: 

Removing loans from students name?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Removing loans from students name?

Hello everyone,

Searched for the answer but couldn't find it:

Is it possible for student loans to be taken off of my (students) credit report and put onto cosigners (dads) solely?  I have amazing parents and they consider it their "responsibility" to take care of our college costs (REALLY amazing parents) and my dad makes the payments of $156 a month. My gross is $2000 month, so the $156 is a big chunk of my DTI, even though I am not technically paying it, it still shows on credit reports when I try to get a loan.  This may be a wild question and the answer is probably a simple "No" but I thought I would check. My dad is trying to help me get my credit up as much as I am and we thought this would be a good way to get rid of some debt. (I still have 2 CCs in my name and a personal loan so it isn't like my loans are the only thing showing I have a payment history.)

Thank you!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
LynnInMN
Frequent Contributor

Re: Removing loans from students name?

No, cant be done.
Ex-Financial Aid Officer

Ex-Student Loan Collector
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you!
Message 3 of 7
203bravo
Established Contributor

get dear ole dad to take a personal loan and pay off the SL.  SL balance $0, you have a paid for TL, and dad continues to pay the SL.  Easy Peasy.
Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@203bravo wrote:
get dear ole dad to take a personal loan and pay off the SL.  SL balance $0, you have a paid for TL, and dad continues to pay the SL.  Easy Peasy.

Usually student loans are lower interest than regular personal loans.  By asking Dear Ole Dad to refi in such a way, you would most likely be asking him to pay higher interest rates.  Then not only is he amazingly taking financial responsiblity, but taking a hit in the cost of the money.