cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Loans - the bane of my existence. ADVICE NEEDED.

tag
LadyLeah
Contributor

Student Loans - the bane of my existence. ADVICE NEEDED.

Good afternoon, everyone. I started the journey to repair and rebuild my credit last week, and while I have been aggressive with addressing all the baddies, I spent the week pretending my student loan problems don't exist. In fact, they are probably my greatest issue. It is so bad that when I think about it, I want to either cry or die (depending on the day). I hate the fact that I can't go back and undo all the damage I've caused, and I hate that I have no choice but to repay all this money. 

But anyway, here is my question. Would it be to my detriment, benefit, or make no difference if I consolidate all my loans? I have 12 lines totaling $112k. Five of them are not in good standing - either delinquent or in collections. I am currently a student, so 5 of them are current and deferred until I'm finished. Two are showing as "closed/transferred" or sold. I think that may have been from a previous consolidation. I'm not sure. 

Since I know this debt will never go away, I suppose I should finally start acting like a grown up and start making regular payments. It just hurts to pay on something that I know I will never finish paying. But anyway, should I consolidate these? If I do, will that have a negative effect on my credit report in any way? Will it make any difference at all? 

Starting Score: 529 EQ | 551 TU | 614 EX | 579 TU FAKO as of 1/12/14
Current Score: 621 EQ | ??? TU | 614 EX | 618 TU FAKO as of 6/23/14
Short Term Goal Score: 650 across the board by 12/31/14

Long Term Goal Score: 720+ across the board by 6/30/15

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
scvbd99
Frequent Contributor

Re: Student Loans - the bane of my existence. ADVICE NEEDED.