cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student loans suddenly reporting as closed??

tag
ChemE_Bear
Regular Contributor

Student loans suddenly reporting as closed??

I pulled my 3 bureau reports through Experian this morning and my two federal student loans are suddenly reporting as closed.  I graduated in December 2019 and was in grace until June 2020.  I declined the CARES Act forebearance after a couple of months of them being put in automatic forebearance so I could make automatic payments through my servicer Cornerstone/UHEAA.  The loans started reporting as open in July 2020 and my first official payment due date was September 1 after declining forebearance.  I paid 2x what my minimum payment was in June, July, and August and now they are suddenly reporting as closed?? What is going on? These are my only installment loans.  For some reason my scores didn't drop due to no installment accounts and I haven't received any alerts through myFICO for those loans going from open open -> closed.  They are listed as in Repayment on Cornerstone's website.  They were still listed as open according to reports I pulled from myFICO on 8/28, as of last night's update on CreditKarma, and on EX and EQ reports pulled from AnnualCreditReport last week. Weirdly, my scores didn't drop as I've seen with 0 installment accounts before and are still at EX/EQ/TU 754/755/751...

Fico8 1/20:
Fico8 02/22:
Fico8 9/23:
AU:
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Tonya-E
Established Contributor

Re: Student loans suddenly reporting as closed??

When this happened to me I found out that my loans had been transferred to a new servicer. The new loans appeared within days. The history remained from the old and the new loans. It has no effect on scoring.

Wallet: Amex BCP-45k| Barclays Rewards MC-26.3k| Citi Thank You Preferred-27.5k| Citi Double Cash-14k| Target MC-11.5k| Walmart MC-7.5k| Chase Freedom Unlimited Signature-6k

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 13