Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student loans with poor credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Student loans with poor credit?

Well my credit according to bk Was in the low 600s and I got approved for 1.7k on fafsa for student loans. I'm 26 and decided to go back to school. This is my first time applying. I'm surprised I got approved with such a low rate. Everyone I've talked to said they got approved for like 10k. Is this normal? Is it cause my credit score is low?
7 REPLIES 7
Mookey67
Contributor

Re: Student loans with poor credit?

Hello. Stafford (subsidized and unsubsidized) loans are not based on credit. There is a certain amount you are allowed to borrow up to a maximum amount. The amount borrowed at any given time up to a certain amount is based on your year of study and whether or not you are a dependent or independent student. That could be the difference between how much one borrows versus another. Ultimately the school has to certify the amount up to the maximum for that year that you may borrow. Hope this helps
Exp - 850 TU - 846 EQ - 846
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well I'm independent student I just found it weird I only got approved for less than 2 grand. Everyone else I've talked to got approved for way more
Message 3 of 8
calyx
Super Contributor

Your application could have taken into account the  amount of money you made, and what 'they' think you could afford to apply to your education.   Back when I applied (in the dark ages, to be sure) I received maximum assistance, but I was also making very little to no money at the time.

Happy practitioner of AZE7or8or9or10 | Team Finances > FICO
Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

CinnyMinny:
If you're independent, your school costs enough that people got way more, and you'll be enrolled full-time, there is likely no reason why you shouldn't have been approved for the maximum available for your year, at least in Unsubsidized loans.