Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Private Student Loans to cover rent/car payments

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Using Private Student Loans to cover rent/car payments

I just got accepted to a university where my tuition is completely covered by grants, but I still need to pay for housing and a car. I am taking 16 units and I feel like it would be too much to add a part-time job on top of my classes. I would have to reduce my units, which would add on another year of schooling (and I would get less grants for less units.) I was offered a low federal subsidized and unsubsidized amount of $5,500 total, which I accepted, but it's nowhere near enough to pay for rent and a car. My plan is to take out $60k in private student loans to buy a decent car that will last me 10 years and cover rent/food/other necessities during my time at university. I am majoring in finance so ideally, I plan on getting a job immediately out of college making 70k+ annually. Does this sound like a good approach?

4 REPLIES 4
Shooting-For-800
Senior Contributor

Re: Using Private Student Loans to cover rent/car payments

I would stay away from private student loans personally.

I would start off with 12 and a part time job.

Nothing is set in stone.

Try different ratios different semesters.

GL!

Rebuild started in 2014  -  $100k unsecured credit in 2017  -  $500k unsecured credit in 2024.

DON'T WORK FOR CREDIT CARDS ... MAKE CREDIT CARDS WORK FOR YOU!

Message 2 of 5
tacpoly
Established Contributor

Don't get yourself in deep water before you even know how to swim!  Don't saddle yourself with a $60K student loan before you even know whether [1] you'll like and do well in finance classes and [2] you'll get a good job in finance.