Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Student Loan to Boost Credit Score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Using Student Loan to Boost Credit Score

Hello everyone,

I have a somewhat unique situation. I currently could pay for college in all cash (like I have been doing for the past 4 years), but now in my senior year I finally have gotten wise to apply for some aid. I have been offered 5K in sub'd fed loans. I am thinking about excepting these loans as basicly a 0% interest loan for 9-12 months (depending on the semester). However, I was wondering how I could pay these loans back and gain credit score; maybe sending a monthly payment while I am in college to show payments on my report then PIF as soon as the no interest runs out (deferment until 6 months after graduation).

Anyone have any experience with this? Anyone can list the pros and con's to taking this loan?

Thank you,
Charles

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Using Student Loan to Boost Credit Score

Do you have any open installment and revolving accounts? 

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have no installments currently. I do however have a discover card that I have carried a balance on for the past 10 months, and I just opened a BoA card that I will be making payments on for the next 12 months. Both cards were 0% interest offers so I never PIF'd. Other then that I have no other credit (besides pulls from my Apartment complex, Verizon Wireless)

Thank you,
Charles
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

While an OPEN installment TL may provide a score boost over time-

I say $'s over FICO any day of the week-

If you can pocket a few bucks- go for it, 
I will say that having an installment account open under 1 year will only add to positive payment history-  the point gains are really over 1 year. 
Message 4 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable