cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will paying off a chunk of my student loan hurt or help my credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will paying off a chunk of my student loan hurt or help my credit?

Hi there! I graduated earlier this year with (thankfully) only one student loan. I saved quite a bit of money since graduating, and I have around 50% of the total loan cost saved. I was planning on paying off 50% of the loan when my payments begin in January, and then paying around 2.5 monthly payments each month. I was hoping to have my loan paid off in a year since it isn't that big (around $8,000 with interest). 

But I am reading that paying off my loan quickly may actually hurt my credit! Just having this loan made me have bad credit, and I have worked my way up to average credit since I graduated. 

What should I do? Should I pay off the huge chunk then make large monthly payments or make small monthly payments? I just don't want to have to pay off this loan for 10 years like they want me to! 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Will paying off a chunk of my student loan hurt or help my credit?

IMO - I would pay this off ASAP.  There are other ways to get your scores in order.

Message 2 of 5
LindysMom
Regular Contributor

I agree with the other poster.  Pay it off and open a credit card.

AAoA may be impacted a bit when you pay it off but you probably aren't sacraficing any payment history since you've likely been in school and not paying

My FICO Scores:
9/17: EQ - 542 / TU - 535 / EX - 506 // Mortgage: 553, 545, 486
10/ 17: EQ - 558 / TU - 563 / EX - 586 // Mortgage: 554, 568, 536
11/17: EQ - 630 / TU - 589 / EX - 614 // Mortgage: 606, 606, 572
12/17: EQ - 630 / TU - 624 / EX - 619 // Mortgage: 584, 612, 671

9/18: EQ - 676 / TU - 676 / EX - 643 // Mortgage: 652, 628, 606