Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

September 2019 Check In Thread

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: September 2019 Check In Thread

How long did it take? And do you have a mortgage.?
Message 41 of 57
Journey2019
Established Member

Hello everyone!

I am new to MyFico and these forums. Started working on my credit around February of this year.

In my 20's I started getting credit and really messed things up! Got rid of (or they were closed) all credit cards and have been paying cash for everything for the past 30 years! (I'm in my 50's now) Who needs credit cards anyway?

Well, come to find out paying cash for everything is a BAD thing! Paying cash for a house seemed like the smart thing to do. Until you want to do renovations that you can't cover with cash... Or you want to do ANYTHING that requires credit!

So I thought OK let's go back to this credit situation, I'm older now, wiser now (I hope!) Let's see if I can remedy this!

I was in a car accident in Feb of 2014 with no insurance. A couple of bills went to collections. (I though, No big deal, I never use credit anyway.)

Then I started finding all these tools online for checking your credit and reading about what it all means! (Wish this kind of stuff was available when I was younger!) Checked my credit in February of this year... High 500's to mid 600's.

So, I made it a challenge to improve my credit score and manage credit cards again to my benefit instead of the cc companies benefit!

I have improved my Equifax and TransUnion scores to the low 700's (Experian - mid 600's. Still has medical collection account reporting. ).

I am here to try and learn all I can about improving my situation!

I have many hard inquiries and 6 credit cards and a personal loan right now. Own 2 houses, but have no mortgage. Own 4 vehicles, but have no car payments.

I think I need to chill out for a while to let things come off my reports and learn!

Thanks for reading this long drawn out post!