cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge 2014!

tag
Educ8

Re: Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge 2014!

Hi All.  I'm new to the "garden."  Hit a rough patch in 2008 and have been on the (credit) mend since.  Several items that were included in my bankruptcy are slated to fall off my credit report in 2015 and I feel like I'm wishing the months away!  It's not been that bad.  I started re-establishing my credit with a VISA card offer from "CreditOne."  I added a Capital One Master Card to my wallet a few years after that, and then added a Walmart Card last year.  All cards have increased their limits over time and I made good (and by that I mean "bad) use of my new credit.  Before long the cards were nearly maxed out.  I thought that as long as I paid double the minimum payment that carrying a balance would be good for re-establishing my credit.  Why I didn't research this first, I don't know.  Long story short,  I paid off all three credit cards.  Some have reported the new zero balance and I'm still waiting for others to report.  I'm hoping to see my FICO score edge upwards once all cards show a zero balance.  My new plan is to charge some groceries or gas here and there and then pay each in full every month so that I can still display a payment history over time.

Credit One Visa: $0/$1,150

Capital One MC: $0/$1,500

Walmart: $0/$600

I have seven hard pulls showing on my credit report for the previous 24 months.  Two are coming off next month... Yay!  Seven sounds like a lot, and it is, but I rented two years ago and they pulled my credit for that.  I bought a car and they pulled for that.  The car was a lemon so I had to buy a new car last September and they pulled it again.  Then I changed insurance and they pulled for that. *sigh*  

Starting Score: EX 662, EQ 683, TU 659
Current Score: EX 671, EQ 699, TU 680
Goal Score: 720

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 71 of 488
Flaca66