cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge for 2013!

tag
Darrell82
Established Contributor

Re: Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge for 2013!

Im in the Garden now after applying and getting many cards to rebuild credit with. Got a few personal loans as well to have the diversity in credit profile. I have came a long ways already and i am working to get my scores all over 735 at least to get ready and purchase a new home in 2014. Thanks to this Forum i have already pushed my scores up from the 620s to over the 690s. All but there.. Just working on credit limit increases with no hard pulls and letting the accounts age.

Message 691 of 735
Solannis

Hi all,

This is my first time taking the myFICO Fitness Challenge. I realize I am a bit late to the challenge this year, but better late than never. My financial history has been rough over the years. Get it cleaned up, messing it up, cleaning it up seven years later, messing it up again. At one point, I was a credit card junkie; applying and getting new credit was the high I was after, and that's how I eventually got into trouble each time.

This time, however, I am on the wagon for good. After an 11 year un(der)employment stint, I have had a good flow of income due to a reasonably stable work situation for the last four years. Unfortunately, my wife does not have the financial control and discipline that I have now (finally) developed. I spent all of 2012 paying off $80k in credit card debt, and am working hard to ensure that we don't get there again through a program of very strict and stringent home budgeting, monthly savings contributions, and daily credit-card management (I log in to each website and look for charges) on both my cards and my wife's cards. We are, to this day, at zero balance on all cards, which I am particularly proud of.