Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to pay on a credit card

tag
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

Re: Best way to pay on a credit card

@Anonymous wrote:
t cut with no more than $17.80 (8.9%) but no less than $5 so you can stay in the optimal utilization range. I would let the statement cut with a different balance each month so like $15 one month, $10 the next, $12, etc, so it shows some pattern of usage and consistently keeping the utilization reported low if it was me. 

While I am against micromanagemetn anyway, this bit seems way too much!   Discover knows all your charges anyway, so this is for other issuers (perhaps at some later point).   Why do you think that anyone is looking for different reported balanced each month?   If I have a constant $20 subscription on a card, and that's all that reports, to my mind that shows adequate responsible credit card usage.

Message 11 of 33
Anonymous
Not applicable

@longtimelurker wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:
t cut with no more than $17.80 (8.9%) but no less than $5 so you can stay in the optimal utilization range. I would let the statement cut with a different balance each month so like $15 one month, $10 the next, $12, etc, so it shows some pattern of usage and consistently keeping the utilization reported low if it was me. 

While I am against micromanagemetn anyway, this bit seems way too much!   Discover knows all your charges anyway, so this is for other issuers (perhaps at some later point).   Why do you think that anyone is looking for different reported balanced each month?   If I have a constant $20 subscription on a card, and that's all that reports, to my mind that shows adequate responsible credit card usage.